English for Doing Business in Asia – Speaking (Week 2)

It’s pretty similar to last week. Some quite well produced videos, and then pronunciation and language work.

Video playlist

Outcomes for week 2:

  • identify possible cross-cultural issues and misunderstandings in communication,
  • pronounce some challenging English sounds, and
  • use some basic Business English vocabulary.

The first is pretty challenging – I’d say first year university level, or perhaps upper secondary. The second and third are general second language needs. is there a mismatch between the two?

Part 1 looks at Hofstede’s theory (link)  and Culture, Leadership, and Organizations: The GLOBE Study of 62 Societies, by Robert J. House of the Wharton School of Business, University of Pennsylvania (2004).

All interesting stuff which I wish I had more time to digest. There is an attempt to use the discussions in a more productive way – linking to the videos and theories.

The pronunciation videos are fine, although I had problems identifying the /ð/ and /d/ sounds. The recording, or I was not paying attention, or just me?

The vocabulary – a little repetitive. Not really related to the videos.

The final quiz – still challenging, especially when it is about the theories. I scored 24/30.

Some of the incorrect ones:

6. Which one of the following words is not commonly used in a phrase with the word capitalization?

increased, market, improve? I chose ‘increased and it is incorrect.

7. Which of the following words are commonly used in a phrase with the word outstanding? (Multiple answers possible.)

achievements, amount, payments, balance? I chose ‘amount’ and ‘payments’. Perhaps also ‘achievements’?

The other questions I got wrong were about the theories.


Overall

I can see where the course is coming from, and now it is trying to add some meaty theory. But, is there a mismatch with the pronunciation and language work?  Will there be two different markets / users, those wanting the theory, and those wanting the language input?

