See this British Council video (Using Shakespeare in our lessons):

(Note – this is a good example of how not to label / describe videos on YouTube)

I have to go back to when I was 16 years old to when I last studied Shakespeare seriously. I had a great teacher – Mrs Pottinger? – who got us reading and enjoying literature. Before her I had a succession of mediocre teachers who fortunately did not turn me off English (I was still reading books), but did turn me off English lessons at school.

So, how about Shakespeare in our classes? Are our students up to it? Are our teachers up to it? Watching the video, I’m not sure I could do that, but I can see how poetry could be used to teach the rhythm and beat of the language. I remember Alan Jefferies used to teach how to use poetry at the British Council with young learners, so it is possible to a certain extent.  But in our packed curriculum, when would we have time.

Update.

Here’s a link to the fill video (88 minutes) – and this one is properly labelled and described!

Speaking the bright and beautiful English of Shakespeare, Ben Crystal

Using Shakespeare in our lessons

Leave a Reply

