BOT Reflection 1 (Module 2)

Sign up Wiki (Orginally posted Thursday, February 13, 2014) (see opening post for Module 2)

The sign up wiki is a good idea, and it is something that can be easily used in my own classes. But, there are a couple of issues.

1. I’m beginning to know some of the people in the BOT course, but most I still do not know. I also did not really want to be a peer reviewer of someone from my own Centre – I think it is better to see something from a different perspective. This meant that I was choosing ‘blind’. I half made my choice on what the person had suggested as a learning resource on the blog, but then the person who I chose that way asked me to change so that someone else could be her reviewer! In this course it is not really a problem for me, but I could see it would be a problem if trying to get students to do something similar in the first 2 or so weeks of the semester – expecially if they do not know each other. Better to wait until later in the semester.

2. Doing the wiki later in the semester can lead to a second challenge – how do you prevent ‘friends’ grouping together – especially if it is for peer review. Creating too many ‘rules’ would complicate things though, and is it such a problem if friends do group together?  Something I can think about. Peer review is something I’ve known about for years, but never really done (mainly for time and lack of energy reasons).

Leave a Reply

